Reality Smash

By realitysmash

Dalzell Works Tower

Ventured up to the steel works today, always wanted a picture of the tower (slightly touched up, but ssh). I was reading up on the history of steel production in Lanarkshire, with Dalzell still producing today.

The most famous around Motherwell was Ravenscraig, closed in 1992 and demolished in 1996. As a student of Motherwell College, which sits on the old Ravenscraig site, I felt I should touch up on local history.

I found it interesting that the Dalzell works, opened in 1872, produced steel used in the Forth Bridge, Titanic, WWI and WWII warships, submarines and tanks. During which it employed around 5000 people.

I recommend further reading on the wikipedia page and this site - written by an ex-employee of the plant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.