Viator Fabula

By Heliflyer

A sad moment

This entry is going to be political/religious/personal, so in this day and age in which people seem to be offended by the slightest upset or event outside of the ever-narrowing norm, I am sure it will offend someone, although it is definitely not written intentionally to do so.

I took this today very much aware of the recent ruling about Council prayers in England. Thanks to an atheist councillor complaining about prayers in Council meetings, a whole range of activities involving prayer are now under threat.

I took it feeling that Christianity is under attack although many claim that is not true. It is as though the voice of the Church and of those of the Christian faith is slowing being strangled. That may not be true, but it's how it FEELS.

I am not trying to pick a fight. I just don't quite understand why it is that something that brings so much comfort and hope and peace to so many people is considered to be so offensive. I can't comprehend how this ruling demonstrates the "tolerance" of the British people about which we hear so much about.

And I know about the counter arguments of how "offensive" some versions of Christianity are. I've used some of those arguments myself! I'm not denying that - it's just that we hear very little of the great good that faith can bring for those without hope, or who are suffering loss, or experiencing great fear and oppression.

Surely "to tolerate" means existing in a state where, although you disagree with other people, you put up with their views in order to allow those with a different world view to exist in peace alongside you. This may be perhaps at times inconvenient... but hardly offensive? Wasn't it always the British way to put up with a little bit of inconvenience in order to be seen as a "good chap"? (Or of course, a good chappess).

And please understand - I am not talking about the reprehensible behaviour found at the extreme ends of any faith system - I'm just talking about people getting on with their lives in what is increasingly a more and more difficult world in which to live, and where ANYTHING that brings hope should surely be applauded and encouraged.

I am not offended by this man's actions. I don't particularly care if you are Atheist, Christian, Jew, Agnostic, Muslim or whatever... and I really hope any comments that people leave will reflect the idea that this entry is not a tirade against anything.

It's just a deep sigh of despair and sadness.

And if I have offended you? Hmmm.... I don't know what to say. There are surely much worse things in the world to be offended by?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.