Float

I received a voucher from my M&D to have a go of the Edinburgh Floatarium Spa and I had my first session today. Basically, its a tank that you go into, filled with water and lots of fancy nice smelling salt. You close the lid, turn out the light, and float away for an hour to relaxing music. Like the Dead Sea, because it is so salty you just float and don't need anything to keep your head out or anything like that. You can even sleep in there if you want! It is warm and smells good and is really very relaxing. There are very few things that I do that I find genuinely relaxing and allow me to switch off, and diving is one of them. This feels a lot like diving (like neutral buoyancy) so it was very nice. I liked it a lot, I'll go again.

This wouldn't be for everyone though, the lady said a lot of people don't like water or floating or being in an enclosed space or being in the dark...

If it was my place I would have tarted it up a bit more, but hey you can't see that when you're shut in a cocoony thing.

The first time I'd seen anything like this was years ago when Absolutely Fabulous's Edina bought a new fangled ISO-tank from LA.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.