What another rant?

By JohnA

So that's it for another year!

Not so sure I wanted to go. When I looked out of the window, it was warm inside and so cold out there. But my brother-in-law had organised the team, and come to pick me up, so no choice. The last cyclo-cross race in the London League calendar for 2011-12 - the Team Champs. The team event is actually my favourite. The course is great - twists, turns, drop offs, bomb holes, and mud - great! The sky looked as if it was about to snow any minute, but we were lucky it didn't.

Freezing, waiting for the start, with my team mates (red kit in the foreground), on the only snow free path. Must have been the slowest event ever, the course was covered in snow and ice, starting in deep snow in the middle of a field. Every change of direction, the bike slipped. Every bend, felt like the last one. Fell off twice, once knocked by another rider's enthusiastic passing manouveur and then 200 metres down the course I did it without any help. My front wheel just went, man, it just went. I expect I shall be covered in bruises tomorrow. The worse bit is cleaning the bike afterwards. :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.