Camera-Shy

By shy

Ducking and Diving

Often, at lunchtime, colleagues in the office pop out to the local supermarket and as they leave ask if anybody wants anything. Sometimes somebody asks for a sandwich or a pasty or some other easily obtainable eatable.
Sometimes a colleague will do the same thing, but time the announcement so that there is no possibility of anyone wanting anything, so keeping up the politeness but avoid any hassle. This convention normally applies to supermarkets, but sometimes a bright spark will ask if anybody wants anything from the dry-cleaners as they go out the door.
Yesterday, this same bright spark asked if anybody wanted anything from the local builders merchant superstore as he was leaving the office.
I called him back and asked him to get me a shower-curtain, wire strippers, distribution board, six light-bulbs, an electrical screwdriver, a ceiling rose and a toilet-seat.
"really?"
"No , you're all right, I'll go myself after work and get them." said I.

It was worth coming out with that list just to see the look on his face.

As it happened, I purchased those exact things later on that evening.








All I need to do now is find a use for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.