Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Dizzle in da House

They say it's not what you know it's who you know. Some truth in that based on today's experience. The Dizzle and I went to London to Tate Britain because of his desire to explore some art in connection with his GCSE studies and on the way up I remembered I knew someone who worked there; so we met up and got into a couple of the exhibitions for free then went to the Turner galleries. All really lovely. I'd forgotten what a beautiful building it was.

Then we were talking about politics and I remembered I also knew someone who was secretary to an MP (a very old family friend), so we arranged to meet up with her at the MPs offices across the road from the commons. Lots of airport style security before getting into the atrium style building. After coffee and catching up she said "do you want to see The House"? and took us down into the subterranean world beneath Westminster Bridge, through a vaulted tunnel of ancient arches, and then up into the courtyard of the palace of Westminster where we were given the guided tour. It was truly amazing to be standing in the chamber of the commons (they are in recess this week although the Lords are sitting). The whole place is so impressive. The Dizzle was absolutely overwhelmed and couldn't stop talking about it. You cannot, of course, take photographs for security reasons so the blip is an external one.

Had early supper in Wagamamas on the south bank before coming home. Boss dropped off an Amazon parcel that had been delivered to work and we had a thoroughly good gossip about his son who is training with the Royal Marines and a general catchup about life the universe and everything.

I love connections. I love a feeling of connectedness.

I love days like today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.