Phase II of the.....

Whirling Dervish Teapots!!

So here is the next part in the process.....I have 6 bottoms feet bases....6 middle sections and 6 top sections....no lids as of yet. What I did was build many different permutations of the 3 elements...all giving me very different results. I look at the proportions, try to figure out what is pleasing me and what is not so ..... and it all has to do with proportion....and within each element there are quite a few variables! I was never very good at science or math - but i think i have a good eye for balance....this one here isn't quite there yet either, but it was the one configuration with the best balance, so far! As you can see, all of these elements are quite crude, they haven't been finished, ie trimmed and fitted together well....all i was looking for was how to get to the next phase....which will mean making more of each section - but i have a better idea of what to make! I also hadn't thought of the lid...and then i played with one of the 'feet, bases' and i kinda like what it brings to the form. I also stuck on a spout and a handle, but not well enough for them to stay put....just to get an idea of the complete form.

Now it is time to let things percolate....which is very timely cos my wonderful friend Lynne.... Moments and Ivor (her husband) arrive on wednesday for 4 days....i can't wait to see them!!! It'll be great to share this new home with my friend Ivor....and this will be his first trip out to Big Hill. At least Terry with have some company when the 'blippers' are off engrossed in their own wee photography world!!!

check it out on a larger scale!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.