A Dog's Dinner

By G

Black and White

For the first time on more years than I care to remember I got some black and white photos back from the lab and very exciting it was too.

What I've discovered, other than the lab is excellent if not inexpensive, it that digital cameras do de-skill you in camera handling.

The roll of film showed all the classic errors of a new photographer, bad focus, wild exposure, camera shake and no control over depth of field. New cameras as so 'automated', even in the manual range of settings, they still control lots of these basic functions so after a while you, or should I say. 'I' have forgotten these skills.

So it's back to the basics.

Anyway I'm dead chuffed even with all the errors so next time I'm going to shoot some Tri-x pushed two stops to see what I can do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.