Greater Love

..hath no man than this..that he send his wife a red rose on St Valentine's Day.

Just when I thought Eros had passed my door unannounced today, the bell rang and there was a delivery of a single red rose, decorated with satin hearts, and a beautiful brooch.

As you can see, there is no signature, but the very idea that I might get excited and think to have a secret admirer, forced his Lordship to come clean and confess all.

What a romantic he is, and how naughty, as we had agreed to forego the cards this year and just be nice to each other for a whole day instead.

With the whole day scenario bothering me, I handcrafted a card for him with the thought that it might compensate for the bit of the day when my niceness slipped a little; but once more he has upstaged me and has won the moral high ground.
Now I feel that despite my card, I will have to behave and be nice all day.

I joke of course: it was a lovely St Valentine's Day gift and very much appreciated.
Thank you My Lord!

My cup further runneth over as one of my Shetland photos made it into the Readers' Gallery in 'The Scotsman' newspaper today, which makes his Lordship and me equal now with 3 published entries each.

As Scobes was wont to point out once, we have sold our souls to newsprint, even though no money has ever changed hands. It's the glory that counts!

I am now going to offer his Lordship a cup of coffee as part of my niceness, before it wears off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.