Love & other clichés

As I get older I can feel the pressure of becoming cynical about many things including love but I fight a battle against becoming Victor Meldrew & I usually win!

I had some Joe Bloggs aftershave & toiletries set, a card & a single red rose, I bought Chris a compilation CD. We don't have a lot of money right now so just small gifts & big hugs!

Spent valentines afternoon with my mum as Chris is working nights, had a lovely lunch in "The Dales Cafe". If you want a bite to eat the Dales do some lovely food, reasonable prices & all home made with locally sourced meat. The homemade mushroom soup was delicious! Plus we had our usual root around Otley's numerous charity shops & bought 'The wisdom of crowds - how the many are smarter than the few - by James Surowiecki' should be interesting as I thought the opposite was true especially after voting this government in, we can't be that clever!

Anyway here's a poem about love that I've always loved:

One-Track Mind - Sophie Hannah

Why does she take unnecessary trips?
She lives just opposite a row of shops.
She went to Crewe to buy a bag of chips.
She went to Birmingham to buy lamb chops.

She has no time for aeroplanes or boats.
She cannot get enough of British rail.
She went to Liverpool for Quaker oats
Then Halifax to buy the Daily Mail.

She went to Chester for a pair of tights.
Every weekend she's up & down some track.
She went to York for twenty Marlboro lights.
She went to Stalybridge & came straight back.

Once, on her way to Hull for cottage cheese,
She saw him. All he said was "tickets, please"


Hope your valentines day goes well, whether your in a couple or not everyone is loved by someone inuding family & friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.