Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Joanna

I first met Joanna about 6 years ago when I was working at the University of Liverpool, doing social policy research about the impact of EU enlargement on the local economy and the related issue of the experiences of so-called 'migrant workers' from Poland and other 'new' EU countries as they came to the area to live and work. At the time Joanna was doing a Masters in Politics in her home city of Gdansk and, like me, was interested in the way that Polish people were or weren't getting along in the UK. She attended an event that I was speaking at and then, not too long afterwards, she moved to Liverpool and has been working here ever since. Happily, our paths have continued to cross through work and through our mutual friend Damian who is also originally from Gdansk.

These days Joanna works for the City Council and we met this morning to discuss the city's approach to Hate Crime awareness - which is when I cajoled her into letting me take some pictures.

Thanks Joanna!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.