Secret Love

"Valentine's day
Oh, Valentine's day
This day every hour
I buy you a flower
As long as I live
But don't dare to give
At midnight I throw them away ..."

(From: Short Poems Of A Desperate Love)

The weather forecast predicted some sun in the morning, a temperature of 5°C, but wind & rain later the day. I made an early walk on this Tuesday, February the 14th. Did you realize we had 89 Valentine's days before?

I ask the lady from the flower shop if I can make a picture of a beautifully prepared bouquet. Her green-brown eyes look at me radiantly.
"Would you do that before or after I wrap them?", she asks, smiling.
"I wouldn't buy them", I say, "I would just make a picture ..."
"You won't give them as a present to your beloved one???"
"I can't do that ..."
"I don't understand ..."
I hesitate for a while.
"I can't give flowers, because ... It's a secret love."
She leans toward me, her green-brown eyes burning into mine ... I can smell her curiosity.
"Do you have a secret love?!?!"
"Yes, I have", I say while I look down, "Hasn't everyone sometimes somewhere a secret love?"
"Noooo, noooo, happily not! Otherwise I could close the shop. I wouldn't sell any more flowers today!"
She looks at me pityingly.
"Well, here we go", she says, "Because you're hopefully the only person I'll meet today with a secret love ..."
With feelings of gratitude I make my picture ...
"I come back tomorrow and then I buy the bouquet and I'll give it away ..."

I know what I'm gonna do. Yes, I make a virtual card and send it by Internet with a 'Just, so' nice remark. As it was meant to be, 90 years ago. But in a contemporary way.

So if you received my card and it happens you read this journal entry, then you know. But I've the feeling that, if you do, you won't tell anyone. Never ever. My secret is safe with you ... ;)


NIKON D700: f/2.8 : 1/80" : 50mm : ISO800

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.