Roll With It

By Falmike

With Family

I spent the day with family, mainly my brother Gary, but at one time or another I saw all four of my siblings.
Whenever I am here I always visit my Dad, he is buried in Aldershot Military Cemetery, a very peaceful and tranquil place in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the town.
The wreaths in the picture are from my Mum who visits whenever she is able, the 'item' on the rod is a Robin; long story but the gist of it - when Joshua was younger he was Batman and Granddad was 'Robin'. The badge on the head stone is the 'Flaming Grenade', the emblem of the Anti-Tank section of the Royal Artillery, the unit he served in and of which he was immensely proud. On top of the headstone are pebbles, a Jewish custom which signifies that friends have visited.
Behind the photographer are the graves of the members of the Parachute Regiment killed in the Falklands Conflict of 1982, mainly at the battles of Goose Green and Mount Longdon. The cemetery has graves of soldiers dating back to the Boer War and from every conflict since.
The flowers on the grave will have gone by the time I type this, not completely gone, the stalks will remain, the remainder eaten by the deer that live within the cemetery. I have never seen them only the evidence, hoof prints, droppings and half eaten flowers. Lovely to think that surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Aldershot Military Town they live in peace inside a 'safe haven'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.