Spur Winged Plover

Or Masked Plover or Pied Plover - known by all three names.

A really noisy bird, it screeches a sort of high pitched machine gun sound. They can be seriously agressive to other birds and can often be seen chasing off hawks. These plovers are self-introduced to New Zealand from Australia and are therefore considered natives. This one doesn't have a fully grown mask yet so I'm assuming it's a youngster.

I went for a drive around the block tonight to see if there were any birds about - as once again it was late when I left work and I was blipless. All I had seen was a group of starlings roosting in the top of a gum tree too far away for any decent pictures, then this plover very kindly flew down to the verge.

Thank you plover, you saved me from bliplessness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.