On My Doorstep

By bwhere

Obsolete!

We had visitors at Christmas and one of them (who shall remain nameless) tried to open the front room curtains without pulling the cord. The result was a broken curtain hook. Finding a replacement for this took two journeys into town as I bought the wrong type first. Trying to put the new hooks into use I inadvertantly broke the curtain rail away from its moorings. So, I made another trip into town to buy the curtain rail supports.

Now, the amazing thing is that our very reliable hardware shop in town carries replacement parts for our curtain rail. But I was surprised to find that the small pieces of plastic (blipped) cost £1.59 each. In paying for them I had a modest moan and the assistant, quite rightly, said that I couldn't get them anywhere else as the rail is now obsolete and around 20 years old! To think, it only seems like yesterday.

I will resume the blipping of mugs tomorrow. Aren't you lucky?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.