Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Show Rats

A VERY busy and long day today.

I got up early, hoping that the weather would be reasonably kind, and packed several bags and various rattie acoutrements for the day, including an empty cage! Once the car was warm, I fetched George and Henry out in their carry box, and the three of us set off to Derby for a rat show!

It took just over 2 hours to get there, and we were in good time to set up. It was the first time I'd shown any ratties, and I hoped George and Henry would be OK in their show tank all day - I'd remembered to supply them with a piece of cucumber each to nibble on in order to keep hydrated during the day.

Once I'd "benched my rats" (a new phrase I've recently learnt), I chatted to various people. Then my friend Beth arrived, and I finally got to meet Vulcan, Isaiah and Jeremiah, who moved into the empty cage I'd brought along. We all chatted ratties, and met ratties, and looked at ratties!

At 1.00 I was on kitchen duty, which was rather mad, since I'm pretty hopeless in the kitchen. I was also paired with a really lovely lady called Michelle, who was also a kitchen novice, and we ended up with orders for 9 toasties when we only had one toaster! We even had to make a vegan toastie of tomatoes and onions - Michelle bravely chopped the tomatoes, even though she doesn't like them either (they're the one thing I couldn't eat, even if I was starving to death, and chopping one up would really give me the heebie-jeebies).

After kitchen duty I chatted some more, bought some rattie beds, and then it was time to draw the raffle. I won a really lovely cosy rat bed for my men! Then the judging was finished, and, to my amazing surprise, George had WON a category. Consequently, I was presented with a rather smart blue and green rosette, and George was pronounced "Best Adult Owned Buck Kitten"!

Very very proud of him! What a little superstar! Also very proud of Henry, who came 3rd! :-)

Then it was time to load up the car, and Me, George, Henry, Vulcan, Isaiah and Jeremiah set off home. Once back, everyone was installed into their cages, and after just one glass of wine and my supper I fell fast asleep on the sofa!

Brilliant day, met so many lovely friends, got three new beautiful baby ratties, and even won a rosette in our first show!

Wow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.