My Funny Valentine

So, yesterday, Mr PicturePoems disappeared for some time, busy on the internet. I'd no idea what he was up to till he emerged with the announcement that we were going to London (today) as he'd got the only remaining tickets to go and see She Stoops to Conquer at the National Theatre. He knew I wanted to see it but I didn't expect to go ... what a wonderful surprise!

First performed in 1773, the play was a great success for playwright, Oliver Goldsmith, and it's as funny today as it must have been then. It was brilliant. We laughed so much. And when Mr PP told me they were the only pair of seats left, I thought we'd be up in the gods somewhere ... but, no, we were in Row H: couldn't have had a better view. If you're in London and want pure entertainment and superb acting, deliberately and hilariously hammed-up, I can recommend it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.