As and When

By IronLantern

The Serious Photographer

Today, I decided to experiment with my 'new' Optomax 80-250mm manual lens. I had been looking for a telephoto lens, ever since another fellow Blipper and engineer, Mahfood turned me onto cheap eBay-based manual lenses.


So I set up in the kitchen (getting in everyone's way), with a bowl of water in the sink, and the tap set to a steady drip. It took quite a while to find the best focus/distance compromise, but finally started snapping.
Some pictures came out much better than this one, but with the in-built flash, so seemed a bit harsh. That led me to find something in the kitchen to diffuse it. I went through many random things: whisky, Ribena, Fairy Liquid, glasses, and weirdly , ketchup. I think this one was olive oil, but not sure, as it is very similar to the whisky pictures.
I had considered collaging all the pictures I took, but then couldn't be bothered (story of my life).


Oh, and the reason for the title is due to a discussion I had with one of my housemates, Charlie (go read his blog):
"You know you're a serious photographer, when your lens has a tripod"
Which is exactly how I set up...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.