Dockyard V & IX

I was in the city this dull grey morning. And as always when I'm there, I can't resist a short walk along the Leuvehaven during lunch break.

In fact the Leuvehaven is one big Maritime Museum. There are boats, cranes, all kind of big machines, a tender loc and there is even a real grain elevator. Most of these objects are daily open for the public. And you know what: it's for free! As often and as long you want to go!

I pictured two of the Dockyard ships today. There were built more of these type of ships but the numbers V and IX are here.

The Dockyard is originally constructed to be deployed in the Port of Russian Moermansk. However, due to the outbreak of the Second World War she was never delivered there, but added to the fleet of the Rotterdamse Droogdok Maatschappij: RDM.
Around 1950 the Dockyard IX is being used to tow marine vessels and transport RDM personnel.


Pity that the air is without design of clouds. You could see some as a human being, but the camera couldn't. So in fact I needed 'high dynamic range'. But I lacked a tripod. This picture was the best I could get at the moment ... ;)


E-P2: f/5.6 : 1/125" : 14mm : ISO200

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.