Fun in the Fens

By Jimbofin

Cracked Rose

Another day of experiments.

It started with thinking that if I could put the slave flash on a fully extended monopod then I could light some difficult to reach areas of the woodland. Then it crossed my mind that if I used the monopd to lift the camera up I could get some shots without so many saplings getting in the way. The only catch is the D-LUX doesn't have a remote release so it mean relying on the timer.

The results were encouraging, but again having the dogs with me didn't help, and I managed to let Dougie out of my sight for long enough for him to roll in fox poo. So no photos until I'm happy with the results.

One of the ideas I'm playing with is to use the rig to hang the camera out over the lake to take a picture looking back to the shore. What could possibly go wrong with that?

The step- daughters are back home tonight. Stephi is home for her 21st birthday before she jets off to work in Tenerife for the Summer again, and Han is taking a weekend break from preparing for finals at Edinburgh uni. So a weekend of taking party photos, an activity I really hate.

Oh, this photo? I was in the middle of a conference call with Mumbai and Houston when the dogs started barking so I had to hide out in Stephi's bedroom to hear what was being said. There was a bowl of potpourri in her room, with this on top. So whilst still on the phone I grabbed this shot using the natural light through the window. Who says men can't multi-task?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.