A place in time

By Verbosa

Waifs & strays

In town today I came across these three young chaps, happily sitting down to their lunch on the pavement. They seemed so relaxed and at home - presumably left there by Mum who wanted a bit of peace and quiet while she was in the shop? But they didn't appear in the least bit fazed that they were sitting outside on the pavement with everyone walking past them. Nor the fact that they actually looked quite grubby, bless 'em - no worrying mother concerned about germs, so I'm sure their immune systems are pretty healthy! I tried converting the shot to black & white, but I actually prefer seeing the colours.

Another possible blip today was a nest of pigeons. You always hear folk joke about never seeing baby pigeons - that they just appear fully grown. But I've found a nest housing two noisy chicks and I watched them being fed by the parent bird. Sadly, by the time I'd got my phone out, they spotted me and hunkered down in the nest and kept schtumm. Maybe I can get them another day now I know where they are...?

P.S. The decorators did indeed turn up today to "finish" the job, except that they didn't have the emulsion paint for the area by the bottom of the radiator. They thought the guy who did the painting about five weeks ago (but carefully painted AROUND the large missing chunk of plaster - presumably thinking I wouldn't notice?) would have left the paint, but he didn't. But I admitted defeat today (the white flag came out) as I cannot face any more of this ridiculous to-ing and fro-ing (it's been going on since last August, for goodness sake!) so agreed that they could leave it, as they have at least repaired the plaster and Mr A could always whip round with a bit of magnolia just to finish it later if he wanted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.