Views from the Edge

By ElviraTSquirrel

Ross Institute

Hurrah....got out today.

Well...kind of...dropped daughter off here to attend a two day drama course. Its the village hall in Halkirk, called the Ross Institute in that fabulous way the Victorians had of honouring benefactors. I'd never been in inside before...and on the wall is a fabulous piece of white needlework. Created in 1911 it includes the embroidered names of all the people locally who donated money to the building of the Institute (I think) along with lovely peacock type birds. Will try to get nearer the information plaque to find out more.

When I wasnt travelling around it took me around 9 hours to sort out boxes of housey type paperwork (yes, it was THAT much of a mess), never again!

Oh and dont you just love the way it looks as though the building is learning :) (Just the way I took the pic)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.