David J. Rose

By djrose007

My life in ties!

Over the years I've collected quite a few ties but this lot are specific to times in my life. From left to right they are:
- RAF Tie - 1965-78
- RAF Trade Group 11 (Signals, Wireless Op, Telegraphist) which is what I did in the RAF.
- HQ Bomber Command (High Wycombe) my first posting after training at Cosford 1966-68
- 'Not Having' tie from RAF Masirah in Oman 1968-69. I think the logo and description says it all, it was a 'batchelor' posting.
- RAF Seletar Singapore 1969-1971
- RAF Seletar sailing club
- RAF Malta Sailing Club 1972-74
- Not RAF! - This is from my time with the Saudi Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Jeddah and Riyadh 1981-1989.

I was posted to other places, Gan (Maldives) and while there visited Sri Lanka for a sailing championship against the British High Commission, but I did not pick up a tie for Gan although the 'Not Having' tie is appropriate! UK Postings included Boddington (between Gloucester and Cheltenham) and Rudloe Manor (near Bath) and a 3 month detachment to Preston Air Defence Notification Centre Barton Hall, now a DEFRA building. Most of my time was spent abroad and I did Boddington 3 times hence the lack of UK locations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.