A Dog's Dinner

By G

Walking on the wild side.

We've got a brand new bus! First trip on the run, leather seats, shiny floor, new super efficient engine it even smelt like a new car. Lovely

On the negative sides it has dark tinted windows which sort of misses the point, for me at least, of being on a bus. Well you want to see what's going on.

I did start the day with my customary walk to work, albeit on a different route, city centre to Leith. I might do it more often - lots going on and you get a real feeling for the vibe of the city.

I arrived in the office to find my weekly email newsletter from another dedicated street walker, I don't think that's the right expression, Melvyn Bragg.

Each week, after his radio programme he sends out a charming piece on his strolls though London, going to the studio, the House of Lords, the people he meets. It's a joy to read it.

Today he was celebrating the time when Downing Street was open to the public and how the Prime Minister would get the bus home if he didn't like No. 10. I remember when I was a bit younger, going through Downing street, having a word with the policeman on duty ,on my way to crash on a bench in Parliament Square.


Back home my regime is to walk one way. around three and a half miles, and get a shiny new bus the other. I wish I could tell it like Melvyn.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.