Spiritus

By spiritus

Reunited

Yesterday I was reunited with my camera after nearly three months without it.

It's a long story. Good one.

Like someone who's just had their thumb reattached, I just had to use it. So I took a photo of my lovely Bose headphones, which have given me much pleasure over the past few years and hopefully will continue to do so for a few more. Sort of fits in with my last blip about things and people I'm grateful for.

My thanks to every human being who was involved in the designing, producing and distributing of these headphones. No one human being knows how to make these headphones. Isn't that remarkable? In fact, no one human being even knows how to make a pencil. Things like pencils and headphones are the result of the cumulative efforts of many people, all with their own specific skills and knowledge. My headphones are the result of someone somewhere thinking: "wouldn't it be cool if you could wear speakers on your ears?" Or something along those lines. Thankfully, they are also the result of other people imitating and improving upon the core idea of wearable speakers, because the first headphones probably weren't that good (by today's standards of course).

Think about all the things in your house and all the things you use on a daily basis that make your life easier and/or more fun. How many of them, if any, could you make on your own? Through trade, human beings can live beyond the limitations of their own abilities. I think that's pretty darn awesome.

Let us be grateful for each other, for without each other life would be a mighty lonely experience, not to mention a much less comfortable and enjoyable one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.