Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Green-winged Teal Ducks in Tualatin area, Oregon

Woke up feeling pretty crummy this morning...but it wasn't raining yet and that was a good sign. I decided to try my luck at a pond in Tualatin that I had read about on one of the birding listservs. Once I arrived, I realized that there were few good places to photograph the birds, and they were so far away, it was hardly worth my drive. I got back in the car, and noticed two bodies of water on my map, so decided to scout them out. They were interesting, but both held mostly Canada geese and the usual suspects :))

I then went back to the car map and noticed another body of water....gee, I'm getting pretty good at this, I thought to myself. Once I arrived, I realized there weren't many good places to park, but I could see lots of ducks. I found an apartment complex nextdoor, and grabbed a parking place (hoping the owner would not return home to an unknown car parked in their spot!!...what we do to get our pictures :)

As I approached, I was so taken away by the scene....the two ducks I've been hoping to photograph for weeks were right in front of me. This huge lake had a bridge that went right over the top, splitting the lake and giving me an amazing viewing spot. I shot lots of pictures, and upon leaving noticed a hawk in a far away tree. I've posted my pictures from today on Flickr, CLICK HERE!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.