Optic Nerve

By BillFroog

Bug Attack

Today was a David Bellamy day - an excursion into the undergrowth.. well pot plants in the lean-to. The lemon tree has come in for the winter - I've only had it for 6 months and thought I'd overwinter it inside for it's 1st Brissle winter. Strange growths have been appearing on the lowest, slightly sickly leaves - and upon examination yielded some strange unannounced inhabitants.

Put all my macro rings on (it's a man thing I reckon) to get in as close as possible. The light wasn't brilliant & I hand held on an imminent going out deadline so quality wasn't the best. I even had better shots of the wee beastie but I liked the one with the indication of scale, so here tis.

Still not identified - leatherbacks (crane fly) were mentioned - but no positive id yet. I found a bigger broth/sister too on a second branch - morphing into a larger version - domed & the webby tendrils coalescing and gaining insect characteristics. Fascinating to see what will arrive :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.