Brave Blue World

By OlliEcological

Deception

I'm going fishing tomorrow. I'll be trying for some Pike (Esox lucius) with deadbait (sardines, sprats and herrings) and some artificial lures. To be perfectly honest I'd rather a big Perch (Perca fluviatilis) or even Zander (Stizostedion lucioperca).

I once wrote a paper on Zander, as part of an investigation into invasive aquatic species. They were being blamed for the decimation of stocks of bait fish in the fens. It turned out it wasn't quite the picture. Zander had been around for ages - it was shitty farming practices that had knackered everything and the farmers (and MAFF as was) were seeking a scapegoat. At the same time, Liverpool University were running a trial with Harry Ramsden's as to the possibility of serving Zander and chips. It's actually extremely tasty and can be farmed very easily (has been for yonks in eastern Europe). As Cod continue to be ruined, maybe we should open up a new idea.

The Latin name for Zander - Stizostedion lucioperca - is fascinating. *please bear with me*
The "lucioperca" bit is a combination of the two Latin names I quoted above. It was thought that Zander were a hybrid of Pike and Perch, to the point that they are still called "Pikeperch" by those who don't know.

A truly tragic post. I just like fish - I'm sorry.

P.S. Those in the know will notice I've flattened the barbs on the hooks. I do it to every lure I buy until I can replace the barbed hooks with barbless ones. Every single fly I construct is done so on a barbless hook. Every single time I go fishing, it is with a barbless hook.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.