Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

FOUND = NOT LOST

I knew I'd put them somewhere but could I heck as like remember where. I blamed the grandkids for moving them, I blamed her for moving them, I blamed everybody for moving them...

Then do you know what? I found them where I'd left them about a year ago. So no-one had to apologise, a result all round I'd say.

Now I guess you're all clamming to know what they are? (go on, humour me). The red one is a radiator plate off an old 1935 Bristol half cab bus belonging to United Autos of Darlington. I found it in a scrapyard in Fencehouses near Sunderland in 1969.

The green plate was bought at a railway exhibition in York in 2007 and is from an Aldershot and District bus. The dealer said it was original but I have a suspicion it's a recast.

And the little bus block was given to me by a kind man in the United Head Offices in Darlington in 1972. They used them to illustrate the old timetables. This one is of a Bristol RE bus of around 1964.

Bet that's made your day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.