Maggie @ Abingdon

By MaggieJH

Beautifully bowed

This beautiful 18th century barn lies just north of Radley College on a busy country road linking Abingdon to Radley to Oxford. Quite hard to photograph without stepping into the traffic! I love the curves in its roof. As an added bonus, just a few metres along the road there's another slightly newer, but equally attractive wooden barn.

When I returned home I found it on the British Listed Buildin site.

I then cycled on to Radley village to try to find out more about Thursday's old cottage blip.

According to the guidebook I bought, it is known as the vicarage and is pre-Tudor, being built in the 13th century with modifications in the 15th (including the oak front door). Apparently it was originally a hunting lodge used by the monks of Abingdon Abbey and famous guests have included Henry VII! I also found some info on the Radley village history web site.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.