October 4th Journal

By IONAX

Thor

I am not a Christian, but as a certain amount of my taxes go to the state church if I do not ask them to send it to another congregation - I ask the state to send it to Asatruarfelagid because of my study of ethnology and folklore.
Some years ago I bought this statue of Thor, the thunder god and son of Odin. It's a replica of a statue that was found in a grave 200 years ago and is believed to be over 1000 years old. I don't believe in him but it is good to have him on the shelf.
Of all the silly things Icelanders have done through the ages the changing of the names of the days is the most stupid one. This was done following the Reformation (1550) and the days which were named after the gods Tys-day (Tuesday), Odins-day (Wednesday), Thors-day (Thursday), Freys-day (Friday) - became those nonsense names: Third-day (Tys), Midle-of-week-day (Odin), Fifth-day (Thors) and Fast-day (Freys) - but all the other Nordic countries kept their days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.