As seen by me...

By GrantR

The Milky Way

Really got creeped out in the dark up the Pentlands tonight. It was the darkest I think I've experienced it, brilliant for the sky but not so good for not crapping yourself. With sight all but useless you pick up every little sound and start to see things that aren't there. Add to that, the intense cold with the the wind and I didn't hang about long. I went in hunt of the Milky Way which was actually visible to the naked eye tonight up there. The camera picked it up even better. This was the D7000 and Sigma 10-20 at 10mm. 45s exposure and ISO2000, takes a fair bit of processing to get the best from it but this is what you end up with. The Milky way is the lighter band running bottom left of the sky to middle top, the densest band of stars in our universe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.