Docadiem

By Kathee

Rodeo week began today. Big stuff here in horse-loving Tucson. School's even canceled for the young-uns to take advantage of the festivities.

Canon held a workshop on site, for its legion of amateur photogs. The purpose - to test-drive one of their vast array of lenses. I couldn't wait to wrap my hands around a 500 or 600mm super telephoto. Didn't happen. Mr. Giant-Camo-Backpack and Mr.Two-Tripods came out of nowhere to nab the only two available.

My consolation prize, a 400mm, f2.8. Weighing in at a whopping 12.5 lbs, with a price tag- $1,000 a lb. The awkward, stubby body and round dinner sized face was not a pleasure to hold even with a monopod.

This Big Boy lens seemed unaware and would reluctantly shoot into focus after a contestant was finished with his 8 minute ride.

After 3 events of frustration, I returned it and clicked on my lovable 70-300.
I couldn't help but notice - Mr. Giant-Camo-Backpack and Mr.Two-Tripods high fiving each other as they compared awesome images on their LCD's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.