C is for ... clouds!!!

Hahahahahahaha *maniacal laughter*. That's six C is for blips - ok, some of them were a bit stretched but hey, I don't care!!!

Today was the day for RSPB Newport Wetlands. Pontycyclops has gone on talked about it so much I had to visit while I was down here. Have been in South Wales for a week and it hasn't rained so guess that had to change at some point. This morning was that point!!!

Absolutely tipped down, but using the wonders of modern technology we could see that it was going to clear by early afternoon so we set off with faith. It was a great excuse for spending some time in the coffee shop having a laugh with Ponty, Ponty_DL, Welsh_Si and Barman58.

Lo and behold it cleared up and we had a fab couple of hours out on the reserve. Have to admit to NOT seeing the Bittern as was pointing out how to spot an Oystercatcher to Si at the time but as I see them frequently at Minsmere I wasn't that bothered anyway!!!

Here is a view across the estuary - you can just see Flatholme and Steepholme the two islands in the middle of the channel. I used to say goodnight to the lighthouse on Flatholme every night from my bedroom window in Newport!!

Tomorrow is my last day in South Wales. Will be very sad to leave. It has been a really lovely week despite the germs and I mustn't leave it so long before my next visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.