Sea Sandwort

I didn't know what this was at the time - I just thought it was cute - but apparently it's known either as Sea sandwort or Honckenya peploides.

We visited a couple of art galleries on Anglesey today and then came here to Aberffraw beach for a little walk. We lived in Aberffraw for a year when I was about eleven and I just loved the dunes. They're fairly vast, in my experience of the dunes of Wales.

I think there's a sense of challenge and adventure about dunes. You've got a network of lofty pathways to learn by heart and the beauty of a slope that has yet to be marked by footprints (like untouched snow). And mild dangers: unbelievably spiky grass, brambles that will insist on tripping you up, a billion rabbit holes to avoid. It's good fun.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.