Mountains on Austvagoy, Lofoten Islands

I had been starting to doubt the existence of the Lofoten mountains...

It was either snowing or misty or dark when I came North through the Lofoten Islands last week and again yesterday afternoon as the boat came through what should be a very dramatic narrow passage called Raftsundet.

Today started with continuing heavy snow, and it wasn't possible to even see the bottoms of the mountains, never mind the tops. The snow did ease up for a while in the middle of the day to taunt me with the possibility that there might be mountains. The few minutes when the ridges did clear did let me understand how magical Lofoten might be....

572/2614

BackBlipping: That brings my blip record back up to date. My current Scandinavian jaunt started on 4th February 2012 in Stockholm. The back blipping sequence I've posted today started on 10th February 2012 as I was joining MS Lofoten to travel up the Norwegian coast from Bergen to Kirkenes, and then back to Svolvaer in the Lofoten Islands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.