A Suffolk Eye

By CroPage

Mor

The professor being unvisitable in a closed ward (norovirus),  I took my mother out to lunch at the Queens Head, Newton.

This, a wonderful medieval pub just south of Cambridge . The same family has run the Queens Head for (I think) 5 generations, and all the furniture is comfortably esconced.

You queue to be first in at the door at 12 (and  bag the window seat)  because the Sunday lunches which are unparallelled: a simple choice of  absolutely excellent cold (rare) roast beef,  smoked salmon or gammon off the bone, and stilton or cheddar off the  truckle, all served with fresh-baked bread and salad.

The Queens Head is a particularly nice place to take my mother because she and my father have loved to take lunch there on many Sundays over many years

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.