Exploits of a Veelager

By KirkCowan

Escape to Glencoe

Pictured - Buachaille Etive Mor

As for once in recent history the forecast in this neck of the woods indicated that the sun may make an appearance so I decided that an escape from The Veelage was in order.

As there had a been a fair amount of snow fall on the previous day I thought a trip to Glencoe would be worth it for the views.

I set off from a very icy scene with a light dusting of snow on the old Citroen, the local council had not seen fit to apply any grit to the " B" class road I started my travels on so decided sticking to the main roads was the best bet and was pleased to see that an fleet of gritters was at work.

The plan was to be in Glencoe for sunrise so not much traffic around at the back of three !

Pretty much clear of snow until starting to climb up towards Crianlarich on the A82, which was like a scene from a Christmas card.

Daylight was just beginning to show as I crossed an icy Rannoch Moor and I discovered I was no longer alone as the parking by the roadside was starting to fill up with climbers and walkers setting out for a day on the hills.

They would be rewarded with the same views as myself as the early morning sun began to illuminate the majestic peaks of Glencoe, which just look so much more imposing with a good coat of snow on them.

Spent an enjoyable morning trekking about and taking a good quantity of photos then continued further north up round Loch Leven where the views were equally as spectacular.

Was pleased to see the lights of The Veelage after a 400 mile and 17 hour round trip but well worth it and a bonus of seeing just a hint of the Aurora Borealis as I had travelled north.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.