imagejen

By jennyg

South Wheal Frances

This morning I had to go over towards The Great Flat Lode, to do some shopping. I thought as it was good light I would make a slight detour over there.

The light was quite nice so I took a few shots. When I got back to the car it started to rain. What a difference the light makes.

This image is of, South Wheal Frances, it lies roughly in the middle of the Great Flat Lode with its area bounded to the northeast by the sett of Wheal Basset and to the southwest by Grenville United sett. Lady Frances Bassett, the mineral Lord, offered a lease on the land in 1834 and although there had been workings in this area since the early 1720's, this new lease offered a chance to make a viable business.

The area is now a heritage sight and part of the Mineral Tramways. West Cornwall

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.