Hector's House

By MisterPrime

Garlic

...The last of the season, should see us right for a while. I put plenty in my no-fat/no-starch cottage pie this morning on the understanding it should at least have plenty of something in it (since I'm now on a post-Parisian-pastries diet!) The kids were both on INSET days but stayed in bed long enough to allow me a nice bit of cooking-and-listening-to-Lambchop time first thing. The new album from Kurt Wagner and co. is fabulous; a lush, slow-moving string-driven thing, uplifting and full of humanity - their best since 'Is A Woman' at the very least. Unlike the new Tindersticks album which I have to say is unfortunately workmanlike at best. A couple of my absolute favourites from the nineties - funny how two should come along at once - and both bands who have caused me to display 'fannish' behaviour in the past, though not really essential listening (the new stuff) for a while. If I'd have had to bet on which one was to come good for 2012, though, I think I'd have gone for the wrong mob... A really quiet afternoon at the Library, though...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.