Plus ça change...

By SooB

Sunset seat

This was the first time I stopped all day. A to do list longer than my arm (well, ok, not quite - but I do have very long arms) was worked through methodically, and at times manically, with shopping done, washing washed and dried and everything prepared for the electricians tomorrow.

Tomorrow we finally have our visit from the ERDF contractors to move our meter (into our house, which will be helpful) and give us a new line which will supply more than 12 kilowatts of electricity, enabling us to turn on more than four radiators at a time. The room where the new meter and other bits of kit that I don't understand will live will one day be the music room. It is currently our very own 'Room of Requirements' - a fancy name for the place we shove all the building materials and tools and a bunch of stuff that we can't decide if we need it or not. Today's job was to clear out a load of stuff so that there is space for the men to get in tomorrow and do their job. To do this, of course, I first needed to clear the hall so there was somewhere to put the stuff. That meant clearing the spare room for the stuff from the hall... and so the puzzle worked through and eventually everything was where it was supposed to be.

Once the big serious electricians have been, our electrician will have to pop by to connect the new supply to our 'tableau' (don't know what this is in English - fuse box, maybe?). I haven't heard back from him that he is definitely coming, but I do hope so or we will have no electricity tomorrow... While he's here (let's be optimistic) he'll do the snagging on the whole installation, which gave me my last lovely job today - checking all the light fittings and sockets to make sure they really do all work. Having lived in the house for nearly three months, that may seem an odd thing to have to check, but there are still rooms with either not much floor or not much ceiling (or both) which we are not using. So I trooped around with a ladder, light bulb and small lamp checking everything. Only half a dozen issues to discuss - which is not bad given the size of the installation.

Anyway, with all that I somehow found myself worn out at the end of the day, so a lazy pasta supper and a night in front of the telly for me - ignoring with no feelings of guilt whatsoever the baskets of ironing glowering at me across the room.

The kids had a lovely day - an afternoon teddy bears picnic outside. At least that's what they said they were doing. Anyway, they didn't fight all day and have agreed that that is definitely the most fun way to spend a day. More sunshine today, which always lifts the spirits. Clearly it lifted the spirits of a couple of local cats a bit too much - our garden seems to have become a love zone for cats no matter how often I chase them away. I was out chasing them when I spotted this little stone seat in the garden. It's hidden behind a pile of trees and branches that I will one day get around to breaking up for firewood. Perhaps one day I'll even get to sit on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.