Nature day after day

By loveofnature

When the wind blows!

Here's a very windswept Collared Dove enjoying the seed on the log. There were 3 of them in all stuffing themselves but alas I had a really sore hip with kneeling down for so long and when I moved about an inch to ease it, they saw me and took off. I'm not that bothered as I know they'll be back.

Today is the last official day of National Nestbox Week which encourages people to put up nestboxes in their garden or local area. It's very rewarding putting up a nestbox and helping the birds (nestboxes aren't just for Blue Tits either you can get open-fronted ones for Robins and Wrens and larger ones for owls and Kestrels, too) as natural nesting sites are at a premium in the countryside. Please if you haven't got a nestbox up please do as it's very worthwhile :) Here's our nestbox which my boyfriend made and which is on our wooden arch facing in a north-westerly direction. No interest from any Blue Tits yet but I'm keeping an eye out ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.