Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Double Elizabeth II Postbox

We had to go to Saffron Walden this afternoon as Mr A had an optician's appointment. We took our cameras and thought we would get our blip while we were out.

I now remember why I do not take a camera to Saffron Walden. There I was taking pictures of the market when this stallholder told me I could not take a photograph as it was illegal! We pointed out that we were in a public place and so was she and quoted the Royal Photographic Society guidelines, but she refused to listen or read the card which we carry. She accused me of trying to photograph her stock so that we could follow her home and steal it! I did not think at the time to say that if I was going to steal her stock then I would not be standing in public with a dirty great lens on my camera and that I could just as easily follow her home if I so desired. My husband pointed out that the camera he had round his neck was worth more than her entire stock of junk. Anyway we left her screaming at us that she did not want us near her stall. The last time I used a camera in Saffron Walden two people put their hands up, one in front of her face, the other in front of my lens.

So the moral of this story is, if you are going to Saffron Walden, on market day, leave your camera at home, some of them are not friendly to the locals or to tourists.

I decided not to blip any pictures that showed some of the beautiful carvings on the buildings in Saffron Walden, but to blip this double Elizabeth II post box. It cannot complain and our Queen Elizabeth II is photographed hundreds of times a day, so I doubt she would mind either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.