I Love HIS Creation!

By Marie51

Nanny and Grandad

This is a picture of my nanny and grandad from a long time ago. They are wearing their Salvation Army uniforms of that day.
The picture is fitted into a tea light candle holder, there is a lit candle inside.
I cut this picture out from an order of service sheet that was from my Grandad's funeral. There were other pictures on the order of service sheet too, a Salvation Army crest and a picture of my grandad in his soldiers uniform.
My nanny and grandad were amazing people. Strong in their faith in God, faithful soldiers in the Salvation Army and they always sacrificially went the extra mile in providing for and caring for others. My nanny especially was a great witness for God in the street where she lived, especially when she became ill. Everyone knew her, and everyone would come and talk to her and confide in her about their problems. When it was her funeral, at her request, as her final witness for God, a man, carrying the Salvation Army flag, walked in front of the procession as the cars drove slowly down the street, and many neighbours came out of their houses to pay their respects and watch her go. They knew where she was going, because she told them. Heaven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.