Bird in a glazed cage

Backblipping after a day when I had one friend visit, and another come to take me out for a meal with two other friends, so a lovely day. We went to Strines Inn, which anyone who is familiar with the North Eastern Peak District will have heard of. It is an old coaching inn and is located quite a way from anywhere on the high moorland. It's a place with open fires, exposed beams, and little gentrification to spoil it. My friend was not happy about the stuffed birds and hunting trophies on display, but my view is that they represent steps the road to our current relationship with wildlife - without the Victorians' passion for collecting wildlife, we would not have developed our current growing awareness of the importance of the natural world and its preservation.
This pintail was the one that particularly caught my eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.