around here somewhere

By thehammerton

Snellen chart

A hospital-based blip today, taken slightly sneakily whilst waiting in a side room for someone to come and shine a torch at me; I was at the opthalmology clinic having my eyes looked at. I've just discovered that these charts are called Snellen charts after the Dutch opthalmologist who invented them in 1862. Thanks, Wikipedia. The outcome of all the light-shining and resting my chin on various devices was a clean bill of optical health, in case you are wondering.

The trickiest part (not all that tricky) was getting home; the drops to dilate the pupils certainly worked, and so when I emerged into the sunshine slightly overcast day it was very bright and hard to see - I found my way to the bus stop and tried not to think too much about how I looked with one eye closed and the other squinting. Large pupils apparently make one look more alluring but I suspect in this instance it wasn't the case..

Blip runners-up today included the bunker-like exterior of the hospital, my hugely dilated pupils and some reasonably proficient pancake tossing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.