Earache MyEyeInA Nutshell

By RichPaula

Bored games

While I was killing a few minutes before going to work this morning I picked up a copy of TV Cream Toys. The book just happened to fall open at Chutes Away. As a child I had Chutes Away and I loved it. The game consisted of a turntable with a periscope and moveable plane over the top. You looked through the periscope and tried to aim parachutes into the holes on the rotating turntable. I don't know if I was bought this instead of what I really wanted which was Flight Deck. Doesn't matter, I thought Chutes Away was great and I was the only kid I knew who owned it. It was given away, like so many of my toys after I'd outgrown them, for a pair of younger male cousins to break...sorry, play with. I was telling a friend about Chutes Away a few years ago. He'd never heard of it but thought it was called Shoots Away and was some kind of game involving a biscuit, some adolescent males and Madame Palm and her five lovely daughters. I put him straight right away. I've never played Soggy Biscuit in my life. Honest.
And look what's on the page opposite. Cluedo. I hate Cluedo. You had high hopes for it because it included a gun and a length of rope. In reality you end up asking tedious questions like "Was it Colonel Bogey in the utility room with a glass of paraquat masquerading as lemonade?" And it's a so-called dinner party game. I've never been to a dinner party in my life and don't intend to start now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.