Red Flash

By RedFlash

Its not a Church

I went in search of a church today - St Mary Abchurch. It should be near Bank station. I did find a church - St Stephen Walbrook but this isn't a picture of it because I found some reflections and if you have subscribed to me for a while you will know that I LOVE reflections.

Now for a history lesson:

The original Roman town of Londinium was established where it was because of the rivers, not just the Thames. There are several rivers under the London that we now know. One of them is the Walbrook (as in St Stephen Walbrook). It is thought that the river was named because it ran through or under the London Wall; or the name comes from Weala broc meaning 'brook of the Welsh'. The stream started in what is now Finsbury and flowed right through the centre of the walled city into the River Thames, near where Cannon Street Railway Bridge is now, splitting the settlement in two. It was probably used for fresh drinking water and also for carrying sewage down to the Thames.

For the full explanation see

The area behind King William Street, Walbrook, is being rebuilt and hence you can now see the reflections of the surrounding exposed buildings and the building site in the modern building next to the church.

As it is 8.30 in the morning you can also see lots of people rushing to work while I stand invisibly photographing them.

I made the Spotlight again yesterday, I am amazed. Thank you for making this happen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.