a little bit of rhubarb

By Puggle

paperwork

On my to-do list today, once I stagger home from work, is to give some love and attention to my old books. My diary says I'm due to check the acid-proof papers and other preventative measures that I've resorted to in order to keep the books in as good a condition as possible.

I've got a few old books (none of which are valuable because I've not got that kind of money to spend, more's the pity!), but this is the oldest. It's a history of the Belgian Wars , which ran from the 1590s-c.1603. Published in 1670, it's made of rag paper, has an embossed calf skin cover and has gilt and gauffred edges. The endpaper has an inscription that shows it was a prize given to a student at the University of Paderborn (which hasn't existed since the 1800s). The inscription is a nice personal touch, I think.

It's obviously battered and water-damaged and whatnot over the past few centuries. But at least I can make sure it will last a little bit longer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.