Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Railway crossing

I thought I would get my blipping done earlier today. That is temping providence as now I will probably witness something dramatic, beautiful or super interesting during the day and not be able to blip it. Well maybe not if past experience is anything to go by. Not a lot happens round here.

The crossing gates got the sepia treatment as they trigger a bit of nostalgia (one of my acceptable blipping criteria). They are on a little used crossing and are usually shut against the road as the one or two trains a day probably outnumber the vehicular traffic. These gates are quite old and probably of the same vintage as those I used to stand near as a child and watch the last steam trains thunder by. The best fun was to go onto the footbridge and get enveloped by the steam. That was a bit scary though and the noise was thunderous as these monsters sped through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.